Hardik Pandya will captain India in the One Day International (ODI) match against Australia.

Hardik Pandya will captain India in the One Day International (ODI) match against Australia.

The Indian Cricket Team would be overjoyed after thrashing the Aussies in the second Test Match. The Men in Blue’s brutality in all three phases of the game astounded the Aussies. Ravindra Jadeja, a clever left-arm off spinner, was the main dismantler, taking 7 wickets in 12.1 overs while giving up 40 runs.

The visitors would be quite disappointed since they chose bad shots that cost them. Losing 9 wickets in the early session as the batsmen lacked mental fortitude on a difficult pitch is totally unacceptable. As Travis Head was the only person who seemed to be in command, his dismissal turned out to be the decisive event.

The India ODI team has been selected for the Australia ODI Series.
The All India Senior Selection Panel has released the ODI team that will play Australia. The opening game of the two nations’ ODI series will begin on March 17. Interestingly, the team’s selectors decided to play Jaydev Unadkat despite the fact that Sanju Samson, the wicketkeeper batter, is still recovering from an injury.

India’s ODI lineup consists of the following players: Hardik Pandya (vice captain), S Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), R Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, W Sundar, Y Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, and Shardul Thakur.

The ODI World Cup in 2023 would be the ideal follow-up to this ODI Series. As Jasprit Bumrah’s future is still uncertain, it would be interesting to see if he plays in the upcoming IPL, which will start on March 31. With India selected Kuldeep Yadav, Jadeja, Sundar, Axar, and Chahal for its team, the management would have their hands full.

Shikhar Dhawan is reportedly no longer going to participate in ODIs after Shubman Gill’s fantastic performance against New Zealand. The Men in Blue won the ODI Series 2-1 in 2020, which was the first time they had defeated an entire Australian team.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya, Arshdeep Singh and Shubman Gill rise in ICC T20 rankings