IND VS NZ: Hardik Pandya handed over the trophy to Prithvi Shaw after winning the series

IND VS NZ: Hardik Pandya handed over the trophy to Prithvi Shaw after winning the series

India won the T20I series against New Zealand 2-1 after a thumping win in the third match in Ahmedabad on Wednesday, February 1. In the shortest format of the game, Shubman Gill scored his first century in T20. And the match was always in India’s control with skipper Hardik Pandya bowling out the Kiwis for just 66 runs. He handed over the trophy to Prithvi Shaw. In a video posted by the BCCI on Twitter, Prithvi Shaw looked shocked to hold the trophy but celebrated the win with the rest of the team and posed for photographs.

India beat New Zealand by 168 runs – the biggest win by a Full Member against another in men’s T20Is. With this victory, Team India won the three-match T20 series 2-1.

Daryl Mitchell was the high scorer for New Zealand with 35 off 25 balls. While India skipper Pandya put in a stellar performance with both bat and ball as he scored a crucial 30 off 17 balls and took 4 wickets for just 16 runs in 4 overs.

Chasing a competitive target of 235, New Zealand got off to a poor start as they lost both their openers within two overs of the game. India captain Hardik Pandya took the wicket of Finn Allen. Arshdeep Singh then managed to dismiss Devon Conway and Mark Chapman on the first ball of the second over. Three wickets had fallen on New Zealand’s score of 5 runs.

Indian bowlers did not allow any New Zealand player to stay at the crease. New Zealand lost four wickets in the powerplay as Pandya dismissed Glenn Phillips for 2 to give his team another wicket.

After this Michael Bracewell came to bat. Bracewell opened his account by hitting a brilliant six off Pandya. Umran Malik dismissed Bracewell for 8 runs.

After this, New Zealand captain and left-handed batsman Mitchell Santner came out to bat. After this, Daryl Mitchell and Mitchell Santner took command and struggled against the Indian bowlers.

Shivam Mavi then joined in and struck twice to dismiss Santner and Ish Sodhi. Santner returned to the pavilion after scoring 13 runs, while Sodhi also fell victim to Mavi’s ball and went to the pavilion at zero.

Lockie Ferguson then came out to bat but could not do much as he was dismissed by India captain Hardik Pandya. The Indian fast bowlers completely derailed the New Zealand team.

Thereafter, Daryl Mitchell and Blair Tickner hit boundaries against India’s bowling attack at regular intervals.

Hardik Pandya then dismissed Tickner in the 12th over of the innings. Indian bowlers did not take long to wrap up New Zealand for 66 runs. Because Umran Malik took the last wicket of Daryl Mitchell.

Earlier, Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya’s quick-fire 30s took India to 234/4 against New Zealand,

Gill was the top run-scorer for India, hitting 126 off 63 balls, while Rahul Tripathi scored 44 and Pandya scored a quickfire 30. New Zealand’s Michael Bracewell, Blair Tickner and Ish Sodhi got one wicket each respectively.

Deciding to bat first, India got off to a poor start as they lost their batsman Ishan Kishan in the second over of the game. Shubman Gill finished the second over with a four. Gill then hit Lockie Ferguson for 11 runs, hitting two fours.

The duo of Rahul Tripathi and Gill played with aggression, smashing boundaries and taking singles at regular intervals. Gill opened his hands in the 5th over of the innings. Tripathi then joined hands with the India opener and scored 14 runs in Ferguson’s over.

The young duo continued their fire and took their team past 80 runs in the 8th over of the game.

However, in a thrilling ninth over, India lost the wicket of Tripathi to Ferguson. Tripathi returned to the pavilion after scoring 44 runs in 22 balls in Ferguson’s over.

Star batsman Suryakumar Yadav then came out to bat and along with Gill took India past 100 in the 10th over. Gill brought up his maiden T20 half-century in 35 balls.

Suryakumar’s blaze at the Narendra Modi Stadium came to an end when the star batsman was dismissed by Tickner for 24 off 13 balls. Michael Bracewell takes it to remove Suryakumar who is looking dangerous at the crease.

After this, Indian captain Hardik Pandya came out to bat at the crease. Gill, continuing his explosive form, hit Ben Lister for two consecutive sixes and took 14 runs in this over.

In the 17th over of the innings, Gill and Pandya took 23 runs in Tickner’s over with the help of two sixes and two fours. Gill completed his 100 runs in 54 balls with a brilliant four off Ferguson’s ball.

India completed 200 runs in the 18th over. After this, Gill scored 17 runs in the 19th over of the innings. And scored 235 in the last.