IPL 2023: David Warner will take charge of Delhi Capitals in the absence of Rishabh Pant.

In place of usual captain Rishabh Pant, David Warner will captain Delhi Capitals in the upcoming 16th season of the Indian Premier League. Pant will miss the entire IPL 2023 due to the severe injuries sustained in the accident he was involved in in December 2022, and the franchise would be led by the veteran Australian player instead.

Warner has been chosen to serve as captain, and Indian all-rounder Axar Patel will serve as his backup. Axar has been in outstanding shape in all competitions and has been dominating the current Border Gavaskar Trophy. Being a great all-rounder who contributes equally with the bat and the ball, Axar Patel has made a name for himself.

Before to the IPL 2022, after being released by Sunrisers HyderabadDelhi Capitals acquired him for INR 6.25 crore at the super auction. He performed admirably and lived up to the team’s expectations while playing the opener. Warner scored 432 runs in 12 games last year, including five half-centuries, and faced SRH with his highest score of 92*(58).

Warner has participated in more than ten seasons of the Indian Premier League and 13 different iterations of the competition. Warner also has IPL franchise management experience, having served as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s captain and guided the team to their first IPL championship in 2016. The franchise has not yet released a formal statement regarding the matter.

David and Axar Patel will lead our team.would serve as his deputy,” a Delhi Capitals ownership group member informed Cricbuzz.

Warner will resume playing during India’s ODIs.
David Warner won’t have any issue leading Delhi Capitals with Ricky Ponting at his side as the team’s head coach. Warner recently travelled to India for the Test series, but after learning he would miss the entire tour midway through the second Test in Delhi, he went home. The opening batter was picked to Australia’s 16-person team on Thursday, February 23, and will play again during the three-mach ODI series.

Also Read :IPL 2023: GT, CSK to start on March 31