Irani Cup: The rest of India takes the lead against MP, extending their overall lead to 275 runs.

On the third day of the Irani Cup on Friday, Yash Dubey’s tenacious century was insufficient to keep a rampant Rest of India from extending their overall lead to a massive 275. Starting the day with a score of 53, young Dubey hit 109 off 258 balls and was involved in two useful partnerships of 114 for the fourth wicket with Harsh Gawli (54) and 96 for the sixth wicket with Saransh Jain (66). Unfortunately, MP only scored 294 runs in the first innings, which was 190 runs less than Rest’s first-inning tally of 484. Rest raced to 85 for 1 in 18 overs, powered by unbeaten 58 off 53 balls from Yashasvi Jaiswal. Mayank Agarwal (0) failed once more when Kumar Kartikeya trapped his leg. In the first two sessions, ROI scored 190 runs thanks to off-spinner Pulkit Narang (4/65) and the speed duo of Navdeep Saini (3/56) and Mukesh Kumar (2/44).

Narang, a former student of Virat Kohli’s childhood coach Rajkumar Sharma, has been a frequent Team India net bowler since being released by Delhi a few seasons ago. He was instrumental in the expulsion of Centurion Dubey, which rendered MP unable to fight.

With two days left, ROI would be looking to bat big and set a hefty target.

In the morning, Saini supplied the breakthrough by castleing Gawli with a ball that tucked back enough to take out the off stump.

MP lost another wicket for 16 runs, this time to Aman Solanki (7), but Dubey stayed strong at one end and found a superb ally in Jain. The pair put together 96 runs to avert a follow-on.

Dubey was also fortunate in that he was dropped twice but remained consistent enough to score his century. Narang eventually got Dubey, who had missed a drive, to bowl cleanly. After that, MP lost four wickets in 53 runs.

In Brief Scores The rest of India scored 484/85/1 in 18 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 58 batting, Abhimanyu Easwaran 26 batting). Madhya Pradesh were dismissed for 294 in 112.5 overs (Yash Dubey 109, Harsh Gawli 54, Ankit Kushwah 22 not out; Pulkit Narang 4/65, Navdeep Saini 3/56, Mukesh Kumar 2/44). The rest of India is 275 runs ahead. PTI TAP KHS TAP KHS TAP

Also More : Pakistan Women’s Cricket Team is Bismah Maroof, after all.