The West Indies’ ODI and T20 teams against South Africa have been announced.

The West Indies' ODI and T20 teams against South Africa have been announced.

South Africa will be the opponent of the West Indies cricket team in two tests, three one-day internationals, and three twenty-over matches. While the ODIs are not a part of the ICC World Cup Super League, both sides will be searching for the ideal lineup with the ODI World Cup 2023 only around the corner.

The West Indies’ new ODI skipper has been chosen: Shai Hope. As Hope has the capacity to bat profoundly and make every start important, West Indies supporters will be hoping that his performance is unaffected by the responsibilities of captaincy. West Indies haven’t played any competitive cricket since the dismal T20 WC 2022 match.

“Gabriel is a perfect match for playing on the surfaces we plan to utilise in South Africa because our fast-bowling pool has seen some issues. We believe that a bowler like him, who can take early wickets, is exactly what we need. At the CG United Super50 Cup, he established his capacity to be a wicket-taking option up front.

As we prepare to compete honourably when we host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in June 2024, we are seeking a cohesive group and considering the players who we feel can form the core.

Direct invites to the ODI World Cup in 2023 have not yet been sent to West Indies or South Africa. West Indies are in eighth place with 88 points, while South Africa is in ninth with 78. The first one-day international of the series is set on March 16. South Africa wants to continue its winning streak after defeating England 2-1 in the ODI series.

Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Shai Hope (captain), Rovman Powell (vice captain), Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Shannon Gabriel, and Jason Holder are the members of the ODI squad.

The other members of the T20I squad are Rovman Powell, who serves as captain, Kyle Mayers, who serves as vice captain, Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, and Odean Smith.

Also Read: South Africa doing well on track as New Zealand and Devine clash