IND vs ENG 2024: MCC law on Ravindra Jadeja controversial LBW decision?

India and England are involved in the first Test match of the five-match series. A controversial moment in the cricket world when Ravindra Jadeja was declared LBW on the third day of the Test being played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

India started the third day at 421/7. Jadeja was playing on 81 runs with Akshar Patel. The former player added six runs to the score before being given LBW by on-field umpire Chris Gaffney off the bowling of Joe Root. This incident happened on the third ball of the 120th over. Root bowled from round the wicket. Jadeja tried to defend by coming on the front foot. The ball was meant to go inwards. That the ball hit the front pad.

England players move forward for appeal. Gaffney declared out. Jadeja was not convinced. And he challenged the call. The third umpire watched several replays. But could not determine this. That the ball hit the pad first. Or had taken the inside edge before hitting. It seemed like this. As if the ball got stuck between Jadeja’s bat and his front pad for some time.

A shocked third umpire, Erasmus, told before going through the LBW check. I can’t determine if it’s out. Or not. Ball-tracking revealed that the umpire had a say in the question of hitting the stumps. Only 13 runs behind a brilliant century, Jadeja had to take a long walk.

Also Read :Sanjay Manjrekar: Virat Kohli not playing becomes a question